The SCARA acronym stands for Selective Compliant Assembly Robot Arm or Selective Compliant Articulated Robot Arm.

In general, traditional SCARA’s are 4-axis robot arms, i.e., they can move to any X-Y-Z coordinate within their work envelope. There is a fourth axis of motion which is the wrist rotate (Theta-Z). The ‘X’, ‘Y’ and the ‘Theta-Z’ movements are obtained with three parallel-axis rotary joints. The vertical motion is usually an independent linear axis at the wrist or in the base. SCARA robots are used in assembly operations where the final move to insert the part is a single vertical move. Component insertion into printed circuit boards is an example. This is often called “vertical assembly”.

Read the rest of this entry »


One Response

  1. It seems u actually understand quite a lot pertaining to this subject matter
    and this demonstrates with this unique posting, named “SCARA Robot
    Robotics Tutorial”. Thx ,Adam

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: